All Collections
FAQ
Plans + Pricing
How does prorated billing work at Air?
How does prorated billing work at Air?

Understanding your invoice

Eric Magne avatar
Written by Eric Magne
Updated this week

For the latest on all of our plans, visit our Pricing page.

For billing on a cycle (monthly or annual), which means that subscriptions are paid upfront for the billing cycle ahead, you may see prorated charges on your invoice for the following:

  • Add or subtract Member seats

  • Add or subtract Guest invitations

  • Add or subtract included storage

  • Upgrade or downgrade plans

Prorated fees are a partial fee for the time between starting the new service and your billing renewal date. While it might seem like your bill is higher than expected, these prorated fees do not reflect your regular subscription and will not appear on future bills unless you change or add a user.

When you sign up for Air, your initial charge is for your chosen plan when you first check out, paying in advance. As you make changes, your future bills will contain:

  • Any prorated fees for the count of products added or removed

  • The fees for the next pay period

If you make a change in the midst of your billing cycle (even if it's the day after your first bill), you'll only be charged for the time that your Air account is using for the time the product is in use. So on your paid invoice, you could see three types of charges:

  • Remaining Time

  • Unused Time

  • Standard Charge

Using the monthly billing cycle example for an account on Air's pro plan paying per user, here's how prorating works:

If your bill date is on the 8th and you add a $30/month Member seat on the 20th. You'll have a prorated fee for the 18 days between the date you added the user and your next bill date - that would be indicated by Remaining Time on your invoice. The Remaining Time charge would be $18 since you're paying for 18 days of the service instead of a full month. If you removed a user on the 20th instead, it would be indicated by Unused Time, crediting your invoice $18.


Prorated charges can often be surprising, particularly if the changes to your account were made immediately following the bill date. But the good news is the reverse of this is also true. If you remove users from your account, you'll receive a credit for users you've been charged for but haven't kept.

Have more questions? Reach out to our support team for help! Send us a note using the messenger chat on the bottom right of this page or email our team at help@air.inc.

Did this answer your question?